Buying a property interstate with Help to Buy Scheme

Discussion in 'The Buying & Selling Process' started by Lucy2544, 24th Apr, 2024.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Lucy2544

Lucy2544 New Member

Hi

I’m a university student that is planning on moving to Melbourne for further studies and is predicted to be in Melbourne for at least 6 years so I’ve been considering to buy a property in Melbourne as you know Melbourne renting crisis is insane.

As I’m a NSW resident I’m wondering how to approach this. I’m hoping to use the Help to Buy Schem to help pay for the property, however it’s very confusing for me to wrap my head around all the criteria’s and such, I’m eligible for the scheme but it doesn’t contain much information regarding where I can buy the property other than an example of “If Eugene is going to buy a property in Sydney”, there’s no way of contacting the NSW government to ask other than a phone call and I have been trying many days staying for over 1hr waiting for them to pick up. Is it only available for NSW properties? The Victorian Government has a similar thing but you’ll have to live there for at least 2 years.
    I’m confused to what government first home buys I could use and where I can use it? I’m unsure which government I’m suppose to be applying it through.

if anyone can help me understand this. That would be great

2. Paul@PAS

Paul@PAS Tax, Accounting + SMSF + All things Property Tax Business Plus Member

You realise its a lease. You own NOTHING until its paid off. If it falls in value you could lose all you paid to rent at a inflated price. The infated price reflects the cost for the option to buy. On top you are renting but may need to maintain the property. AND You can be evicted from what you think is your home. Its not.

You need to consider the VIC scheme for VIC property not the NSW scheme. if you plan to live in VIC.

What You Need To Know About Rent-To-Own Home Schemes