VIC Buy now in Oakleigh South or closer suburbs?

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by investnow, 18th Sep, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. investnow

investnow Well-Known Member

Hi All,
    We really looking to buy in the South Eastern suburb around Oakleigh/Oakleigh South (We were interested in Bentleigh but the prices have shot up)etc. areas.
    Is it a good time to buy there as we are a young family with 2 kids. We are interested in this area as we heard they have good schools too.
    We are looking for a place where we can live for a while so hoping to make a good decision and a good investment.

Are there any areas close to these areas with good schools and promising
    Our range is up to $850K

2. JDP1

JDP1 Well-Known Member

I'm no expert in that area, but I'd say go for it. 850k should get you something decent in the area I would think. Long term prospects for that area are good.

3. investnow

investnow Well-Known Member

Thanks JDP1 for your reply.
    Its seems people are not saying much here regarding this location :(

4. melbournian

melbournian Well-Known Member

I do know the area having lived in clayton before. I think 850K is not going to get much landsize unless you are going for a unit/townhouse. You are in between McKinnon, bentleigh and Chadstone which are much sought after locations. Also in theory you could drive to Monash uni as well as it is not that far. From investment perspective - it is a good location.Schools not too sure but I am sure you could get into McKinnon which is among the top 10 schools in the state.

5. srirang

srirang Well-Known Member

I live in the area and have an IP in Oakleigh as well. Oakleigh South has some dodgy pockets, so I'd be driving around there before you decide. You'll find that the demographic changes drastically as well.