QLD Brisbane - Woolloongabba VS Lutwyche for Appartments

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by PoshVilla, 11th Jun, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
?

Which should we choose?

1. Woolloongabba

7 vote(s)
    46.7%
  2. Lutwyche

8 vote(s)
    53.3%
  1. PoshVilla

PoshVilla Member

First time poster and buyer seeking some advice! I'm a total property novice and I'm currently quite confused after narrowing a search for a 2 bed, 2 bathroom apartment. My wife and I are looking to use the first time buyer grant, so timely that this is rising to $20k in July. We've looked at not using this and buying an older place, but just don't like anything at those lower prices.

We're looking at a ground floor apartment located in Woolloongabba that has a 70 square metre courtyard with an 81 square metre internal space for $474k down from $499k (was listed at $484k but we offered lower and have been told it would be accepted). We were all set on this until discovering..

...an 83 square metre internal space on the second floor of a 19 apartment block in Lutwyche. There's a 25 square metre balcony. Available for $475k. The general finish of the apartment is of a higher quality, but less open plan - but we kind of like that because it feels more unique.

My wife doesn't like the ceiling in Woolloongabba and we're looking to change it to a gyprock ceiling with down lights, so that would be an extra expense, plus the outside courtyard is so big that we'd probably have to spend a fair bit on making it how we like - plus not sure whether the body corporate would allow it yet.

Both apartments are close to train and bus stations so no difference there.

Which of the two would you think is the better option to buy?

Last edited: 11th Jun, 2016
  2. Heinz57

Heinz57 Well-Known Member

I'd probably say neither right now.

ycdfdyan, rookie101, Whitecat and 2 others like this.
  3. PoshVilla

PoshVilla Member

Ok...