Borrowing to buy.

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Cain, 14th Dec, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Cain

Cain New Member

Hi guys.

So i went into buying a house with a mate. Reasons being he needed me as a solid proof of income (he was self employed cashy) and I needed him as I had no money for deposit which he had.

Now we renovate that place and sold for a tidy profit. As I had a lot of debts I used my share to clear all the debts I had.

So my friend has moved on and I'm left without enough for another deposit. I would love to buy another fixer upper and redo, I am quite handy and as I work in construction can get a lot of materials free or heavily reduced.

My question is. Is it wise to take out a personal loan to cover the amount for the deposit. I have worked it out that for the price range I'm looking at mortgage repayments plus loan repayments is slightly less then what I pay in rent at the moment.

My thinking is as long as at the end of the day as long as I sell it for no less then I bought I break even.

Is this a legit way of doing it or have I overlooked something blindingly obvious.

Any thoughts

Cheers Cain

2. Cactus

Cactus Well-Known Member

If you can get a parent to guarantee your loan, you should be able to borrow 105% and therefore not require a personal loan.

3. Perthguy

Perthguy Well-Known Member

If you don't have enough for a 20% deposit you can put in a lower deposit and pay LMI. The amount of LMI will depend on how much you borrow and what LVR you borrow at.

4. Gockie

Gockie Life is good ☺️ Premium Member

Have you addressed the cause of all your past debts? Will that happen again?

Sackie and Hodor like this.
  5. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

A personal loan carries a higher interest rate and will also affect your serviceability of the mortgage.

However LMI may cost you an additional $10k on top of your mortgage.