Best way to purchase shares with small amounts monthly

Discussion in 'Share Investing Strategies, Theories & Education' started by albanga, 9th Jan, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. albanga

albanga Well-Known Member

Hi All,

I am an absolute novice in the share market but looking to slowly start building a portfolio.
    Each month I receive approximately $1,000 of passive income and I would love to somehow have some kind of automation that would allow this to go straight into purchasing some index funds.

When I say automation, if I had to do the actual transfer then that would be fine. I just however want it to be a very simple process whereby the money lands in my account and through a few clicks I can have it transferred and shares purchased.

From the admittedly limited research I have done, the feedback tends to be it isn't worth buying shares in small increments such as this due to the accompanying fees. I read its better to wait until you have say 5k before making a purchase.

Thanks in advance

2. oracle

oracle Well-Known Member

Buy a low cost diversified index fund instead of buying shares through broker (Look at Vanguard Australia website) and setup automatic periodic BPAY payments to regularly buy into the fund.

Also, setup so distributions are automatically re-invested.

Cheers,
    Oracle.

Last edited: 9th Jan, 2019
    Bunbury, S.T, KayTea and 3 others like this.
  3. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

Keep good records as a lot of small purchases are a pain for tax.

The Y-man likes this.
  4. Ross36

Ross36 Well-Known Member

I've always wondered with this method - is there any way to transfer the money invested in one of the funds to an etf without triggering taxable events? It seems like death by a thousand cuts as you pay a much higher ongoing fee vs. an upfront brokerage fee with much smaller ongoing fees.