Best design considerations when sketching up townhouse development?

Discussion in 'Development' started by Keentolearn77, 28th Jan, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Keentolearn77

Keentolearn77 Well-Known Member

hiya,

Just wondering if anyone has some cracking considerations for inclusion into layouts and maximising space constraints for townhouses.
    I'm looking at a potential 4 townhouse development and want To maximise space / design.

I guess my town planner / drafty should be all over it, but would be good if mr novice here had a little foresight and input to bring to the table...

2. Mike Sargeant

Mike Sargeant Active Member

Assuming you've seen your designers previous work and he/she or you are up with the latest this shouldn't be hard.

Consolidated living areas and good connections between inside and outside with good levels of light & ventilation (windows to two sides of rooms if possible) are my focus areas. Also try to not go under a 3 metre dimension in any bedroom.

Town planners really wouldn't be much help in terms of layout design though they see a lot of plans they will have seen some good ideas.

Last edited: 28th Jan, 2017
  3. Sonamic

Sonamic Well-Known Member

Light, sound, ventilation.

4. wombat777

wombat777 Well-Known Member

Your best bet is to trawl real estate websites and council DAs for floor plans. You will get plenty of ideas from this as to what works. The main benefit is that it will give you the insight you need when reviewing the plans prepared by your building designer or architect.

From my experience having a custom-built PPOR I also recommend writing a design brief. The one I wrote for my PPOR was 10-15 pages from memory :eek:. I am an engineer so like to get detailed :rolleyes:. Have a think about facade designs you like. Perhaps include some sample photos in the brief.