Battleaxe Electrical Connection

Discussion in 'Development' started by Talula, 20th Dec, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Talula

Talula New Member

Hi good Perth people,

I have had a good look at many forums and spoken to third party electricians, subdivision experts etc, but I am yet to get a straight answer to my question, which I find a little strange- but I am new to the building game. Apologies if this has been answered elsewhere but I simply could not find the info and am hoping to be enlightened.

I am currently building my first house, on a strata title, and there has been some confusion with our electrical connection to the subdivision. To save time (hopefully) I have included a diagram that shows roughly how the power was at the beginning.

Basically, there was no power run from the existing pillar (bottom left) to the top of our driveway, and so we were invoiced for over 3k to bore under the footpath and get the power to the top of our driveway.

There is an easement along the front of the property. Our builder also informed us that the developer had run electricity down the left hand side boundary - but that is another issue I think, as there is no easement there.

The confusion is around what should or should not have been set up initially in terms of power. The answers that I have gotten are conflicting and vague. Should the developer have run power to the top of our driveway, or is it my responsibility to pay?

thanking you

Attached Files:

2. lixas4

lixas4 Well-Known Member

Cant directly answer for wa, but in vic where i live and work as a surveyor, if the developer has provided an connection to your property boundary, and the power company has consented to the subdivision, then the developer has done what they need to.

If you or your builder has decided to place a new connection (up the driveway) then that is your choice, i dont think you have any recourse against the developer.