QLD Backflip on tenant approval due to criminal history

Discussion in 'Property Management' started by Darran, 30th Jul, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Darran

Darran New Member

Yesterday we approved a tenant for a property we rented (by responding to the property manager's email). Overnight however, we've had some second thoughts. Without going into too much detail, we've become aware of significant criminal history in relation to both use and distribution of methamphetamine. One applicant was a lawyer by profession but barred from practicing law due to criminal activity.

Assuming the prospective tenants have been notified that they were approved, what would be the ramifications of us backflipping at this stage? Are there any legal implications with us changing our mind?

gman65 and Michael Mitchell like this.
  2. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

Have you advised your pm?

3. wylie

wylie Moderator Staff Member

I'm curious to know how you found this history out when the PM didn't. And yes, I'd ask the PM if they've signed up. Does verbal approval lock you in? I'd assume unless they've signed a lease, you aren't locked in.

@thatbum might know, but perhaps Queensland law is different to WA?

Dan Wood, Rugrat, Joynz and 1 other person like this.
  4. skater

skater Well-Known Member

It was only yesterday. Get on the phone straight away & let the PM know you've changed your mind.

5. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

Cyber trawling :rolleyes:

The applicant's eyes were too close together?

6. MB18

MB18 Well-Known Member

If they haven't paid a bond or signed a leases I wouldnt have thought there to be any issue.