Appointing a property manager. Legal checks on the contract

Discussion in 'Property Management' started by Paterson00, 10th Mar, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Paterson00

Paterson00 Well-Known Member

Hi all,

I am just about to settle on my first intentional IP ( my only other is my former PPOR which my brother now rents so I am new to this ) and I am reading through the contract between myself and the property manager. It advises that I seek independent legal advice on the contract.

My question is, who do I show this to? I know that for almost any other aspect of property investing you are able to hire the help of a professional but I have never heard of anyone getting help in checking this part of the deal over to ensure I am not being had over a barrel with my pants down.

I am confident in the genuine nature of the manager but then.... what do I know?

Any help and tips would be appreciated.

Thanks

Paul

2. thatbum

thatbum Well-Known Member

I'm not exactly sure what you mean - if its trying to get legal advice, then you have to see a lawyer - no one else can give legal advice!

sanj likes this.
  3. Paterson00

Would i go have the contract i have with the property manager checked over by a lawyer? What type of lawyer is familiar with this type of contract.

4. Xenia

Xenia Well-Known Member

most people do not use a lawyer to check.

If you do want to get it checked by a solicitor, a business lawyer can check for you.

Look for:
    A service guarantee, does the agency guarantee to stand by their service?

Hidden costs - above the managent fees.

How to get out if it does not work out.

After hours emergency procedure. I'm working right now on transferring 15 properties from another agency (one owner) because the agency switches all phones off after 5 and on weekends.
    The emergency procedure is filling a form on thier website which hopefully goes gets seen by one of the owners.