Apartment or nothing?

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by jinx77, 20th Nov, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. jinx77

jinx77 Well-Known Member

I’m a 34yo professional woman who has been looking to buy my first property in Melbourne as PPOR for a few months now. I have a huge deposit saved. But I can only afford an apartment or small unit as I’m buying alone. I want to buy a strata apartment in an older, smaller block in the inner city. Most people on this forum think this would be a bad investment and advise me not to buy.

Is it better to continue saving until I can afford something better? The problem is that house prices continue going up, so saving to buy a house is like treading water. I know apartments don’t increase in value very much but isn’t it equally a waste of money to continue renting and paying off someone else’s mortgage?

2. Morgs

Morgs Well-Known Member Business Member

How do the numbers look for you in terms of renting vs. buying?

What do you currently earn on your money and would that be better placed sitting in an offset account?

No advice... just things I'd be asking myself in your position

3. Mark

Mark Well-Known Member

What's the price range you are looking at? You can still get a decent house in Melbourne at the same price of an inner city apartment although they can be quite far away from the CBD. Also, keep in mind that you don't have to put down 20percent deposit. I used mortgage insurance in my first purchase.

Freedom Seeker likes this.
  4. John_BridgeToBricks

John_BridgeToBricks Buyer's Agent Business Member

Jinx77, you can't save yourself rich.

Buying an apartment is a perfectly acceptable way to start a property portfolio in Sydney or Melbourne. The type of apartment you describe has good fundamentals. Got to start somewhere, and the capital appreciation will accumulate more quickly than your savings. So yes, go for it.

5. Maximus