Another bust prediction. .....

Discussion in 'Property Market Economics' started by TMNT, 2nd Apr, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. TMNT

TMNT Well-Known Member

Aussie homes ‘40 per cent overvalued’, The Economist

And for once:
    He's not selling courses CHECK
    Hes an aussieCHECK
    He hasnt been saying the same thing for yearsCHECK
    He doesnt have a financial agendaCHECK
    He knows what he is talking aboutCHECK

Im no expert but when people like this start to talk about it, it does create doubt in my head

Is china just propping something unsustainable or the inevitable up?
    Surely at some point when cg outpaces wage growth something has to give

2. Hodor

Hodor Well-Known Member

The article states a full bubble bust is 20% likely. So the heading is pretty sensational for his actual view point (I know nothing of the author).

I take a very simple view on house prices and their sustainability. Most people tend to buy the most expensive property they can afford. i.e. bank says you can have 500k most people look at properties for 500k.
    Based on the above median house prices are basically a function of household income and interest rates, which is pretty much where they are tracking from what I've seen.

Obviously some places over and under perform.

If interest rates spiked 3%+ without any significant wage growth it would be very interesting to see what would happen to house prices.

willair likes this.
  3. Hodor

Hodor Well-Known Member

Here is a graph, house prices over the past 30 years seem to be just under 25% of household income +/- 5%

Attached Files:

4. willair

willair Well-Known Member Premium Member