Advice on Home Loans given intermittent employment

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by Joe Hillel, 4th Nov, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Joe Hillel

Joe Hillel Member

Hi Folks!

I'm after some advice on home loans and mortgage brokers given slightly unusual circumstances.

I work as a Finance Systems Consultant in the legal sector in Melbourne. The companies that hire me do so as a PAYG employee, but for relatively short periods (less than three months). I've saved a significant amount, held as cash and shares, towards a deposit on my first home (most likely an apartment in Northcote).

I've been talking with banks to secure a loan of $250,000, but one after another they've balked at my employment situation, saying that they need six months continuous employment to "verify my income". This includes my personal bank (NAB) who has some 20 years of account transaction history, and all the info necessary to see a sustained pattern of high earning, low spending and consistent saving.

There must be plenty of other folks in my situation. With work culture changing as it is, it might even be pretty common down the road.

So, to my question; If I talk with a mortgage broker and give them the full suite of my info, do you think they might be able to secure a loan for me where I've failed? I don't want to waste their time or mine.

If so, is there a broker you might recommend? The market is somewhat overwhelming and hard to parse!

Thanks in advance. :)

2. Peter_Tersteeg

Peter_Tersteeg Mortgage Broker Business Member

How do your 2019 & 2018 tax returns look? Moving from one short term contract to another isn't ideal because no individual job really shows what you earn, especially if there's gaps between them. A step back and looking at the bigger picture (over a longer period of time) will probably give you a more holistic overview of what you earn.