NSW Advice needed!

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by natalie86, 26th Aug, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. natalie86

natalie86 Member

I am a newbie to the forums, and a semi newbie to investing.

I purchased my first IP in 2013 in Emerton for $241,000 and sold less than 2 years later for $465,000.
    I purchased another 2 properties this year which I plan on holding on to for now -

IP #1 - House in Campbelltown on 900 sqm block. Purchased for $380k, current value $620k
    IP #2 - Unit in Jamisontown. Purchased for $363k, current value $390k

The bank has just pre-approved me for another 400k which will max out my borrowing limit, so I need to be extra cautious about what my next steps will be.

I have looked at OTP units in Sydney's west which are in line with current market prices and I believe will be true to value in completion in 2017, however this would be a dead end for me as my borrowing limit would be maxed out.
    I was thinking it may be a better option purchasing 2 x properties in Logan/Caboolture South which would be positive geared, however I am worried there will no long term growth.

Should I stick to Sydney? Look to smaller rural towns? Melbourne CBD?
    Any advice on where to go from here would be much appreciated :)

Last edited: 26th Aug, 2015
    Taku Ekanayake likes this.
  2. Steven Ryan

Steven Ryan Well-Known Member

Welcome aboard @natalie86.

I would run, very fast, from buying OTP in Sydney. Especially in the west. You can search and find a lot of discussion about OTP here. There are many risks involved which people oven overlook or simply aren't aware of :)

Most of the experienced investors are buying in Brisbane at the moment so you might be on the right track looking up there. That's where I just purchased.

Are you dealing directly with a bank for finance? You may have a little more borrowing capacity than you realise if you're not using a broker.