Accountant expectations

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by ellejay, 22nd May, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. ellejay

ellejay Well-Known Member

My NZ accountant recommended an Aus accountant to me and I've been using them for 2-3 yrs (the Aus accountant). I didn't have an accountant previously but needed one as I accumulated more property. I've always felt a bit 'ho hum' about the Aus accountant. I've never actually spoken to them for more than a few minutes by phone, instigated by myself. I do pay a large annual bill though. In the last couple of weeks I've just got our Aus tax return back from last year. I gave them all the info July last year. They say they've been bombarded with information from both sides of the ditch! We do have a few IPs but I don't believe our returns our the most complex in the world (especially as the NZ accountant has the most work, and hands this over to the Aus accountant to make use of). I asked over a month ago for them to order an ABN as they said they could do this for me, still no sign.

I know it's not their job to chase after me, but I just feel I'm paying a lot and not getting much back. I feel a bit uninspired and wondering if they have the knowledge to advise me fully, or if they're just too busy. Thinking about approaching a couple of accountants recommended on here. Can anyone give me examples of what they get/expect from their accountant? I'm not sure if I'm being unreasonable.

2. seachange

seachange Well-Known Member

Sounds like you can do much better. Try to meet a couple for a coffee. If they send you to sleep or sit on a glass of water , move on ( I met a senior Partner who did both last week) .
    Find someone you click with and they will be a much better potential ally

ellejay likes this.
  3. ellejay