A new (risky) business.

Discussion in 'Starting & Running a Business' started by geoffw, 7th Aug, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. geoffw

geoffw Moderator Staff Member

Some of you will know that for some years, I owned two food franchise stores for a well knnown sandwich chain- leaving behind a career in IT which I enjoyed.

They did well enough for me, even if the benefits only came from selling.

But I wanted to get back into IT, and had a great deal of difficulty. I earnt a Diploma in Software Development, and then had a job for 12 months on telephone technical support- but the opportunities were not there to progress.

This is where I went for three months to Medellin, to get technical experience. I worked as an intern for a startup- in a coworking space with 30 other startups. I was a backend programmer, and learnt heaps- not just on programming, but also on the world of startups. The venture capital group behind the startups also worked with them in the coworking space. (An aside. The industry standard is 95% failure rate, but through mentorship as well as financial support, they managed to get that down to 90% failure- but still earnt $5 for every $1 invested for their investors. A lot of work being done in Medellin and other parts of Latin America was for the US market, development costs are far lower than in the US).

Coming back to Australia, I had a former employee approach me for advice. He had a product for the fast food industry, one he had been spending three months in market research before even starting on doing anything on the product. I saw the potential for what he was proposing, and joined up with the team. I am in a good position, being able to contribute on the IT level, especially with startups, as well as on the business side.