VIC 900k budget, where to buy in Mel

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Ifox, 27th Sep, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Ifox

Ifox Member

Newbie here and this is my first post , so please be nice :)

Circumstance: Bought our home in SE Melbourne 5 years ago, now worth around 1m. Mortgage paid out and we have about
    200k sitting in a saving account. Looking to buy an investment property and doing my research now.
    Will buy and hold as a long term investment and looking mainly for capital gain. There are two choices currently on my mind: far east suburbs like bayswater or boronia, where I can afford a nice house with big block of land; or townhouse in mid ring like Blackburn or oakleigh.

Which one do you think is a better choice? Thank you in advance for your suggestions.

Perthguy likes this.
  2. MrFox

MrFox Well-Known Member

G'day Ifox,
    If you are looking at passive investment than closer to the city would be better for capital growth. Try to buy below median value for the type of property you are after for the suburb you choose. You can use this to do some more research:
    Melbourne Investment Property Market Data

3. Ifox

Ifox Member

Thank you MrFox.

Can you please elaborate on why buy below median value? I was originally thinking to buy something in relatively good condition, as I won't have time to do renovation. And probably less hassle when rented out.

4. strongy1986

strongy1986 Well-Known Member

Bayswater boronia 900k?

Dont think its a great idea
    Unless you get a huge block

5. Jerry O

Jerry O Well-Known Member

with that budget. I would be looking at getting two or three properties instead of just one. The west is hot at the moment and there's a thread that highlights a few issues on that side of Vic. Do a search and you will find the discussion about it.

MikeyBallarat likes this.
  6. Ifox

Ifox Member

Not necessarily 900k, probably I should say up to 900k :)

7. Ifox