VIC 340K budget. Invest and first home buy. Melton or suggestion for location?

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Winner, 28th Apr, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Winner

Winner Member

Hey guys,
    I am very new to the property scene. So please bear with me :)

I have a pre approved loan. Budget is max of $340K. Starting out in the investment. This is also my first home buy. I will still be renting in Reservoir for kids school, cheap rent, amenities nearby and closer to city.

Because this is my first investment, i want to start with smaller budget that i can afford. There are plenty of properties in Melton for 300k+ mark. I see good opportunities there because of Western Freeway and growth in surrounding suburbs. However, there are lot of stigma and negative comments around this area. I am planning to keep the property for a year or two. Targeting Melton area, Melton South most likely.

Could someone please suggest if this is a good move? Any other areas or suggestion?

Thanks in advance.

2. Anthony Brew

Anthony Brew Well-Known Member

Why only a year or two?

Problems with "a year or two"
    - cost of buying and selling are high
    - market might not move in this time and you end up with an overall loss after costs of buying and selling. might even drop and you make a bigger loss.

Main reason for wanting to buy and sell so quickly is if you renovate to get a profit from that.

What are you planning on doing after a year or two?

Northboy and Savy mum like this.
  3. tommo c

tommo c Well-Known Member

Absolutely what Andrew has said. Why only the 2 years?

Melton has an abundance of vacant land surrounding it - going to take a while to fill out, and create a supply shortage

Northboy likes this.
  4. Cimbom

Cimbom Well-Known Member