300K in SMSF, How big a loan can we get?

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by kaibo, 12th Jul, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. kaibo

kaibo Well-Known Member

Wife and myself are considering her going back to industry fund and possibly a wrap for me. We can each contribute 25K concessionally annually so just seeing what our budget should be for loan in the current climate with many lenders pulling out

What have you guys seen written recently with what kind of liquidity ratios, LVRS and interest rates? I am a professional health business owner and my wife is a doctor working part time (2 young kids) and we have combined income of around 250K

We are both mid thirties so 25 year P+I loan seems the go

2. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

are you asking how much a SMSF you are members of could borrow?

It will depend on serviceability, but you should allow for the SMSF to have about 40% deposit at least.

But do you really think a SMSF borrowing to buy property is a good idea/?

3. kaibo

kaibo Well-Known Member

Thanks Terry

40% plus 5% stamps and a bit of liquidity means budget would be about 600K purchase then?

Not really as we set one up with accountant 12 months ago with that in mind but a lot has changed in the one year in regards to property lending especially in SMSF space.

I think my accountant led me into it and wants to charge me 0.8% on top of the 3K in audit/accounting fees to tell me what funds I should put my money in.(what a rip off as I know more about shares than this guy). Also after this they want to get 80% commission first year on life inusrance/IP and 20% ongoing.

Want to rule out buying property so can close the fund and go back to a industry fund or a wrap and maybe come back later to purchase a clinic for my wife to consult from.

4. Shahin_Afarin

Shahin_Afarin Residential and Commercial Broker Business Member