WA 1st IP

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by CCPerth, 15th Jul, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. CCPerth

CCPerth Member

Hi everyone,

I'm hoping you can help or offer advice on my 1st IP! I'm looking to invest in Perth and the surrounding suburbs as I'm not confident investing in other states as yet. I've been looking at a number of areas including Innaloo (with the developments happening in Scarborough) and also further out in Midland and Forrestfield (with the proposed train line extension).

My budget is around 500k and I'm planning to live in the property for the 1st 6 months and then move out to renting again and hopefully secure tenants.

Would anyone have any advice on these locations or just general IP advice? I'll be completely honest I'm a novice to all this and have found your forums full of helpful advice and information.

If anyone has the time to point me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers

Linxlot likes this.
  2. Linxlot

Linxlot Member

Hi CCPerth
    You look like your doing the right things. There's better investors on PC than me but I'd say that the downward market in Perth has more to go so use the time to research, surround yourself with like-minded people and make sure you have all finances are ready so you can 'pounce' when the right one comes along.
    One of my early mistakes was to not structure finance well. Should have consulted with a broker so that they knew what our plans were..
    Also ensure you've thought about taxation implications. Buying in trust/lowest earner(if married/partner)or joint?
    Hope this helps and all the best
    LG

3. Westminster

Westminster Tigress at Tiger Developments Business Member

Welcome!
    My tips would be
    - understand how much you can borrow based on your deposit, any grants, and your comfort level as to the debt.