QLD Your opinion on - Collingwood Park, Ellen Grove, Richlands and Algester

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Aabhimanyu Gupta, 20th Jan, 2022.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Aabhimanyu Gupta

Aabhimanyu Gupta New Member

Hey Everyone

This is my first time buying a property. I am looking to get one in ~$350k. I have gone over every financing options and I have about only 20k variance (up) on the amount. Most of it is through an offset account with only a little financing as I'm currently in between jobs awaiting interviews starting in February.

I work in Brisbane city and am studying at the University of Queensland currently. So i do need some place driveable from.

These are the properties I have shortlisted.
    1) Townhouse in Algester - 360k ~ 150sqm. Currently tenated at $390/week
    2) Townhouse in Ellen Grove - 320k ~ 150spm. Currently Tenated at $350/week
    3) House in Collingwood Park - 340k ~ 650sqm. Currently tenated at $310/week

I am looking to have it tenated for about a year. And then move in. Also looking to hold for about 10 years. Which areas do you think would be best as an Owner Occupier and a solid CG return in 5-10 years?

As I see it, my best option is Collingwood park for the most CG as its bigger land. But a house would need more work over time. Should I just go for the house, leave it tenated (Since I'm living very comfortably as a single in a rental with $240/week rent) and then further mortgaging it over the next couple years and look for another much better property with better financing then or vice versa with the townhouse?

P.S. If you have any other tips for the first home buying that would be be appreciated too.

2. Hamish84

Hamish84 Well-Known Member

Collingwood Park, out of those three. Avoid townhouses. Capital growth will be compromised and you’ll have body corporate fees, which can be really stinging on some complexes.