Work from Home Business/Service

Discussion in 'Starting & Running a Business' started by telejazzer, 20th Mar, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. telejazzer

telejazzer Member

Hi All,

It has been a frustrating 5 years for me dealing with I believe to be incompetency in the industry I'm in so I'm setting up a business to fill the gap that I've identified. This is basically a combination of field work for data collection, analysis which I'll do from my home office and e-learning via online course and webinar.

I'm also looking at affiliate marketing programs and e-commerce but there's so much content out there and I'll be taking my time on this as I'm not familiar with it as much as I want.

Does anybody here have a home based business?
    How do you find it?
    Challenges?
    Positives?
    Negatives?

2. Simon Hampel

Simon Hampel Founder Staff Member

I've been working from home for the past 17 years - the first 7 as a remote/mobile employee while at IBM, the last 10 as a self employed consultant - and more recently operating my websites PropertyChat and InvestChat (and others) full time.

In the next 12 months or so I'm likely going to get to the point where I need to look at moving into an office as I start to expand my business and take on employees, but for now, I'm working from home.

The number one thing you'll need to deal with is isolation - there's no water cooler chat when working from home and sometimes you really need some human interaction (beyond spouse/kids if you have them!).

How much this will affect you will vary a lot depending on the nature of the work you're doing and your personality.