Will the "bubble" pop?

Discussion in 'Property Market Economics' started by Luca, 11th Jul, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Luca

Luca Well-Known Member

I am relatively new to the property market and never seen a major correction.

Question for the seasoned investors who saw few cycles in Australia, don`t we have alarm bells out there?

Lending is going to the roof, never had so much OO lending in the last 20 years. Lending indicators, May 2021

I am with Matusik , price will keep growing for another 1 / 2 years and then we will have a long flat line, no major corrections.

What do you think?

Few interesting articles I recently read.

Matusik Missive - 140 years of house price data

What can’t last, won’t: Six reasons to expect residential property price gains to slow

Erica likes this.
  2. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

What do you consider a 'major correction' and when do you think was the last one?
    There were corrections in 2018, and again in 2020.
    What did you think then?

3. Sackie

Sackie Well-Known Member

My own 0.05c.

- Very unlikely we are in a bubble
    - Prices will pull back at some point. Whether that pullback will be higher than current prices or lower, no one has a crystal ball. It's impossible to know.
    - The probability of a nationwide crash is extremely unlikely.
    - State wide crash equally unlikely.
    - City crash also extremely unlikely.
    - Will certain suburbs experience 10-25% pullback from the top?, very possible.
    - Do we have a lot more to go for the booms? Its impossible to know. Anyone who says they know is dreaming.
    - Should I buy now? If you think you can identify value and it fits your risk tolerance, then you decide. Personally, I would tread very carefully if buying now.

Last edited: 11th Jul, 2021
    spoon and inertia like this.
  4. Serveman

Serveman Well-Known Member