ASX Shares Why is this?

Discussion in 'Shares & Funds' started by geoffw, 1st Jul, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. geoffw

geoffw Moderator Staff Member

I don't understand this. Is this a new financial year thing, or is it because it's gone ex dividend?

The price is $84.14, and it says that it's gone up $0.36 - however, on Friday's close was $84.59 according to the graph; at no point does the graph indicate a price below $84, even though the implied close is $83.78.

The dividend was $0.8211 - does that mean the dividend was subtracted from the price? If so, I didn't know they did that.

Sorry, I'm new to all of this.

Screenshot_20190701-171725.png

2. dunno

dunno Well-Known Member

Yes it went Ex-Dividend today.

Who ever is providing that graphic of "up 36c (0.43%)" has adjusted Friday’s close by the cash dividend amount.

The chart itself is not adjusted.

Redwing and geoffw like this.
  3. Phar Lap

Phar Lap Well-Known Member

Companies go ex div then shareholders exit and jump on the next share about to pay divs. Its stupid alright, but only people who have entered the stock well below the pre div price are doing this, otherwise its madness.

I see it as a time to get a discount on shares at times.

Sometimes shares go up after ex div but rarely.

geoffw likes this.
  4. geoffw

Ok, thanks for that. I can see it now, but it's counter intuitive.

The graphic shows the same information as athe function GOOGLEFINANCE in Google Sheets, which I think is provided by Yahoo Finance; however, the ASX website provides the unadjusted price difference.

5. geoffw

Thanks for that.

I knew that prices changed for dividends, but I didn't realise that price comparisons were adjusted for dividends by some information providers.

6. MJK

MJK Member

Could I also ask if the 1yr, 3yr,5yr and 10yr performance figures on ETF watch include distributions added back or is it just price growth etc.

Cheers,

MJK

7. geoffw