VIC Why did this apartment sell for 130k more?

Discussion in 'Property Analysis' started by Moogle, 14th Sep, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Moogle

Moogle Member

Complete newbie here. My husband and I intend on buying our first home when we return home from the US in 18 months. So, I have recently started the property research/learning process.

I was watching two apartments in Prahran (one of our desired areas), and was surprised to see that one sold for 130k more than the other.

They both have; 2,1,1 configurations, are in art deco buildings, have separate kitchens, wooden floors, light, privacy, are somewhat modernized and are walking distance from shops/transport.

One is a little bigger and in a different part of the suburb but could that really add 130k? Could strata costs influence this big a jump?

I’m clearly missing some pieces of the value puzzle as I thought these apartments would go for a similar price. What is this newbie missing?

Irving Ave (845k)
    2/8 Irving Avenue, Prahran, Vic 3181 - Property Details

Athol St (715k)
    2/2 Athol Street, Prahran, Vic 3181 - Property Details

I would really appreciate any help or advice. Thanks

2. luckyone

luckyone Well-Known Member

The second bedroom is bigger in the first one and the kitchen is much nicer. Maybe that's it? Also, one might be on a nicer street than the other.

3. The Y-man

The Y-man Moderator Staff Member

Part of it is "luck on the day" (for seller and buyers alike).

Other factors could be:
    - condition of the building (repairs/maintenance outstanding)
    - cost of maintenance (reflected in owners corp)

The Y-man

4. The Y-man

Actually, having has a better look, it appears the Irvine one is much bigger.

The Y-man

5. Ouchmyknees

Ouchmyknees Well-Known Member

The second one's second bedroom is a study, it is too small.