QLD Why Brisbane?

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by matty_fu, 11th Jun, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. matty_fu

matty_fu Active Member

https://forums.whirlpool.net.au/thread/3qq2pn83?p=3

I found this thread over at Whirlpool forums where they're mentioning how Brisbane prices have stagnated for the last 15 years. I'm new to investing and I guess I'm wondering why people continue to invest in Brisbane if the capital growth is lacklustre.

- betting on a future brisbane boom? It seems like this may never come, due to wider land availability than Melbourne/Sydney
    - preference for higher rental yields?
    - using for negative gearing?

twisted strategies likes this.
  2. twisted strategies

twisted strategies Well-Known Member

the forlorn hope Clem Jones ghost will return to become Lord Mayor or premier , perhaps

a hopeless state government a totally useless opposition party

so maybe , this is lackluster growth for the bubble pop to deflate

if looking in the Brisbane area WATCH OUT FOR THE FLOOD ZONES , they must be wildly inaccurate by now

and BTW they have clueless dam management as well ( but i did well cleaning up the 'Goodna Floods ')

3. Blueskies

Blueskies Well-Known Member

Pretty much. A long period of historical underperformance doesn't make somewhere a bad investment location today, infact it may mean the opposite.

No argument that investors in Sydney and Melbourne have done better over the last decade, however the question is what will happen in the next?

Plus Brisbane has suffered from some bad luck along the way too - GFC, floods, end of the mining boom, APRA restrictions that came in after southern capitals had their boom but before Brisbane took off, and now Covid. One day we will have our day in the sun!

Sackie, luckyone, C-mac and 5 others like this.
  4. Lindsay_W

Lindsay_W Well-Known Member

Have a search on this forum not Whirlpool, plenty of threads on Brisbane