Who is the best professional to see regarding strategy?

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Clueless86, 24th Nov, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Clueless86

Clueless86 Member

Hello!!

I've been reading the forums for some months now, but feel I need further direction with where and who to go to for advice to better plan our future.

Our situation is:
    - Family of 4 (2ads 30yrs, 2 young children both at school next year)
    - I don't work as I'm currently studying (1 more year of degree left, and have been looking after the kids)
    - Husband is tradie on $51k/yr gross
    - live Regionally
    - bare minimum savings
    - credit card with no debt (4k)
    - no car loan
    - live a very non-extravagant life, but the kids rarely go without (most of our furniture is second hand/gumtree etc)
    - both loans are with one of the big 4 banks
    - still trying to understand the PI world and terms used.

IP 1 (purchased 2013) 3 br, 1 bathroom
    Purchase price $185k
    Current potential sale price $310k+
    Original loan $176k
    Current loan $155k
    Was PPOR until 2017
    Current P+I payments $265/pw
    Current rent: $295 pw
    Rent mgmt fees $23 pw
    Rates $1750 per year
    We chose to make this a rental as it pretty much pays for itself (well that's what we, as novices, figured, and if not, at worse was covering the cost of the new place)

IP 2 (current PPOR purchased 2017 with intentions of having it as rental in near future)
    Purchase price $170k
    Loan amount $172k (guarantor in place - was a last minute offer by them as we were going to get LMI)
    Current P+I payments $235 pwk
    It's currently 2br, 1 bath, and partially renovated (by us, we are slowly doing bits as money permits). We are planning on adding extension of a third bedroom.
    Possible future rent when 3 br: $260pwk
    Possible sale price once Reno completed $230k
    Rates: $1250 yearly