Who do I ask for help?

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Michelle T, 14th Feb, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Michelle T

Michelle T New Member

Hi All, I'm new to this group and an absolute beginner to the concept of Investment. Im nearly 50 and just plodded along like many paying off my home. Now, along with a recent modest inheritance, I have a bit of extra cash plus equity in my home and am looking at what strategies to use for investment? The problem is I dont know anything and to be honest, I dont understand a lot of what i read on here? I've been to a couple of seminars by Positive Real Estate, and been contacted by another Investment group called Nupath- both which say they will do all the hard work for you, for a fee of course! This includes giving you financial advice, helping buy properties etc. All the feedback on here seems to indicate to be wary of those types of groups but that's what I need? Whilst I'm fine to do the real estate market research etc, I need major help with my investment strategies? So who do I trust? I live in Toowoomba QLD so any local companies (or even in Brisbane) people could recommend would be wonderful! (Please dont tell me just to keep reading etc, Im already doing that and its not becoming much clearer which is why Im asking for professional advice!). Thanks!

Scaphella likes this.
  2. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

You might be best helped by contacting a financial planner who could discuss all aspects of your financial situation and to develop a strategy. Many have no idea about property as that doesn't pay a commission but many FPs are now independent so you would probably end up paying a fee for service.

If your deadset going down the path of an investment property, then a chat with a finance broker will give you an idea of what you are able to borrow.

significance likes this.
  3. Terry_w