Which road to go down?

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Needanewname, 18th Nov, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Needanewname

Needanewname New Member

Hello...I am a newbie and need help working out what I need to do and how best to get there I wanted to run my goal and situation past the brains trust if I may...

Anyone got any suggestions on the best approach to take?

AIM –

Own 5 positively geared properties in the next 10 years.

Current Situation –

I earn 80k a year in a steady job.

Currently have $400 a week (20kpa) going towards savings. This money can be used for servicing loans.

Have 7k in the bank currently growing by $400 pwk.

Married – wife working casual will be full time May next year.

Neither of us have any debt whatsoever.

Was gifted a property by family. Mum lives there and pays for maintenance/rates/insurance but doesn’t pay rent. This will continue indefinitely. Property in my name only but I am obligated to sell it and give half the proceeds to my brother when Mum passes. Property worth 200k.

It’s not a bad position to be in and should get me to my goal. This I am certain...the how I get there though is a bit daunting. ..

I have permission to use mum’s house to give me a kick start, but I would die if she/I lost it due to my mistakes... so any suggestions need to keep that in mind.

Can’t wait to read your suggestions.

2. larrylarry

larrylarry Well-Known Member

Personally, I'd not touch my mother's property (if my brother's interests tied to the property). I will find out from a good broker what he or she can do for me at my current wage and savings. I note that your mother agrees to it being used as a spring board to investments but using it does not sit well with me, again, my personal view.

3. Azazel

Azazel Well-Known Member

Mmm, equity...

It's important to get your head around this "losing it all" concept.