Trading Which retailers will survive?

Discussion in 'Share Investing Strategies, Theories & Education' started by Jmillar, 25th Mar, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Jmillar

Jmillar Well-Known Member

Hi all,

I'm an absolute noob when it comes to shares, so feel free to school me. I'm in the commercial property game and know how much retail has been getting smashed for years. After seeing Mosaic Brands closed their stores today I looked at their share price which currently sits at $0.23. In January it was trading at around $2 so it's been smashed by circa 90%. Given retail has been doing it tough for years, I would think that the previous value of around $2 takes this into account and was a fair price for the stock.

Clearly retail will be hit for weeks or months, but once things return to normal, retail will come back. Maybe not to the same level, as people will figure out how easy it is to shop online etc, but I certainly wouldn't think it will be hit by 90% in the long run.

Hopefully I haven't made any crazy assumptions yet??

So the question is... Will they survive weeks, months until things go back to normal?

Note: I've used Mosaic Brands as an example as it was the first one I looked at. But keen to understand if people agree with my logic re retail in general. And more importantly, which retailers are geared up to survive this and might be a good medium term investment??

Side question - do you think Myer will survive?

mrdobalina likes this.
  2. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

The AUD has tanked so imports are going to cost alot more even going direct. Postage & handling will also add to the burden, so will GST.

3. The Y-man

The Y-man Moderator Staff Member

Coles, Woolies, Aldi, IGA, Costco are making a killing!

The Y-man

4. The Y-man

For my own financial sake, I hope Myer, DJs survive, and for H&M and Uniqlo to keep growing....

The Y-man

5. geoffw