Which option would you choose to deliver on our strategy?

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Harriet, 26th Feb, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Harriet

Harriet Member

Hello! Newbie here although I've been reading and learning from the forum on and off for a few years.

Hoping someone can help me nut out our strategy.

My situation: married; me 38, working PT. Husband 42, working FT. 2 kids (3 & 1).
    No properties.
    $90k deposit, with a $50k gift coming.
    Incomes: $216k gross (we can salary pkg $35kpa each - nfp workers)
    Lending capacity up to $750k but we're more comfortable with around $400k for reasons I can explain later.

Long term goals: (a) buy 4bed PPOR in melb (likely bayside so prob looking $1.5-2M); (b) passive retirement income of around $100kpa in 20yrs time

We have an interest in renovation (I'm also heavily interested in interior design and have a love of mid century housing so hence the desire for a PPOR at some point). We are happy to rent around our desired PPOR area so kids are growing up/schooling where we would eventually like to settle until in position to buy. That could be 5-10 years down the track, that's fine. It would be jumping on a unique property whenever it became available as opposed to choosing from whatever stock was on market in price range when ready to buy. We will never save the cash deposit for this purchase ourselves, hence our strategy below.

Strategy: To buy growth IPs and complete cosmetic renovations to quickly build equity. Eventually aiming to build to at least $500k(+?) equity to use as PPOR deposit. Once PPOR purchased we would move towards yield IP to bolster the passive retirement income

Im looking at 2 ways to achieve this growth and can't determine what is best for us. I'm getting caught up in short term and longer term growth prospects.