Where’s the value in places on tiny land?

Discussion in 'What to buy' started by Nina00, 7th Jun, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Nina00

Nina00 Well-Known Member

I’m noticing places on small land selling for high prices. I’m talking on land of 250m2 and smaller. I remember not that long ago everyone telling me that the value is in the land, not the house and to make sure I buy something on a reasonable amount of land (not huge but bigger than 250m2!).
    So where is the value in these tiny places? Do people really think a place on tiny land for about $850-$900k is good value? I’m not talking prestigious areas but average places about 30kms from cbd.
    I certainly don’t but I’m no expert and none of this makes any sense to me.
    I’m confused and gobsmacked by what I see selling and I wonder if there work be a consequence down the track.

2. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

In the much larger block which was subdivided to yield the maximum number of lots permissible under the LEP/DCP.

The developer bore the risk to purchase, rezone, construct roads, extend services etc to earn a profit.

Last edited: 7th Jun, 2021
    Cousinit, skater, wylie and 1 other person like this.
  3. Nina00

Nina00 Well-Known Member

But I don’t see the value for the person that is going to buy it to live in it. Isn’t it quite the rip off?
    Minimum land value and can’t extend the property. Some are even joined to their neighbour by a wall. Yuk

4. Gockie

Gockie Life is good ☺️ Premium Member

Don't buy these. If its 3-5km out from Sydney City, no problem. But 30kms from city.... no. You have much better options.

Sackie, Scott No Mates and Nina00 like this.
  5. Scott No Mates

It's only taken 150 years for the value to be realised for the small inner-city blocks.

@Nina00 - be prepared to wait another 150 years for you to see any real value in those outer suburb blocks.

6. Hebro