Where to keep money?

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by Perthinvestor94, 19th Jun, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Perthinvestor94

Perthinvestor94 New Member

I am new to this forum, I am also fairly new to the world of investment propertys.

I bought my first property in January 2015 at the age of 20, I resided in it as my primary place of residence until July 2017.

I then moved into another property (cheap rental) and leased out my first home. I am now saving up for a deposit on another property, I have not yet decided if this second property would be used as an investment or for me to live in.

At the moment, every spare bit of savings I have I simply transfer to my home loan account to reduce the interest on it. This home loan account has redraw facility and I can simply move money in or out of it without fees or any issues. I am currently $10,000 ahead on repayments which leaves a balance of roughly $286,000. I keep a small float of a few thousand dollars in my savings account for everyday spending.

I have recently discovered that this method of storing savings could have tax implications for me, my plan was to save about $40,000 or so and keep it in my home loan until I am ready to purchase another property then draw the $40,000 out to use as a deposit.

Little more info, my savings account is not an ‘off-set account’ and my home loan is principal and interest.

My questions are;

Is this plan good? What are the pro’s and con’s?

Where should I keep my savings instead?

What is the best way for me to continue?

2. Jess Peletier

Jess Peletier Mortgage Broker & Finance Strategy, Aus Wide! Business Member

It sounds like you may have inadvertantly cause yourself a bit of a headache.