WA Where to buy IP in Perth

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by JJC, 3rd Mar, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. JJC

JJC Member

Hi everyone! I’ve been following forums on here for about 6months, growing my knowledge and finally decided to join as I’m looking for advice re:buying an IP in Perth. I’m very new to this so please be nice :)
    Background - my partner and I bought our PPOR about 4 years ago and are looking to buy our first IP. Partner works as a health professional and I work in professional services. We’re quite disciplined with our spending and saved some money aside to invest in property. But we don’t know where to start. I’m terms of strategy, ours is to buy in a high demand area, rent out for a few years and then maybe sell depending on the market in future.
    We’re not too fussed about rental yield at this stage, more capital growth.
    We’ve also lived SOR for most of the time we’ve lived in Perth so we’re looking mainly in that area but this is more based on familiarity. We’re happy to explore NOR areas.
    To date, we’ve looked at apartments within 10k of the CBD (North Perth and East Perth) and also houses further out in Bicton, East Freo, Palmyra, Melville area. The questions we’ve been mulling over are these:
    1) Are we better off buying an apartment close to the city and then renting it out for a few years then sell?
    2) Are we better off buying an older house in the burbs, do some Renos rent it out then sell in about 5/6 years.
    I know the general idea on the forums here is not to buy apartment in Perth but given that this is our first IP, we don’t plan to live there and are just starting out in the IP market, will an apartment be a good place to start?
    Our budget is $400-550k but willing to go higher if necessary.
    Like I said, please be nice. Thanks in advance!

2. Lindsay_W

Lindsay_W Well-Known Member

Welcome :)