When do you think you have enough equity?

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by dodger21, 9th Oct, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. dodger21

dodger21 Active Member

Hi,
    I'm a newbie to PC but slowly getting through all the previous posts in the forums.
    My story is...I lived in Sydney all my life and purchased a house there 12 years ago. I moved to regional Victoria for work just over 12 months ago and now rent out my Sydney property.
    The Sydney property would be worth about $1M. I still owe $400k on it.
    I bought in regional Victoria and still owe $274k on it.
    When I did my tax return this year, my tax agent said to think about buying another investment in the next 12-18 months.
    So I went to the bank today to see what the equity figures looked like.
    They said 74% of my Sydney equity will allow me to borrow $157k.
    My question is this:
    Do I wait until my borrowing power increases in the next few years? Or do I find a unit somewhere now for about $150k?

2. Jess Peletier

Jess Peletier Mortgage Broker & Finance Strategy, Aus Wide! Business Member

Hi Dodger,

There's a couple of confusing points in your post -
    • Why 74% equity? Normally we'd take it up to 80% and avoid LMI, 74% is a bit of an odd number.
    • You can also use rental income to calculate your borrowing capacity for the new IP, so I'd be surprised if you were limited to just a portion of the equity, especially if your tax guy is recommending an investment, presumably to reduce your tax.
    Get a decent broker to have a look for you - you may be able to do much more than you think.

dodger21 likes this.
  3. dodger21

dodger21 Active Member

Hi Jess,
    Thanks for replying.
    He did say I can go up to 80% equity, but he did 74% just to show me. He said 80% would increase the borrowing capacity by about $20,000.