What just happened? Auction goings on in BNE

Discussion in 'The Buying & Selling Process' started by fleathedog, 16th Jul, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. fleathedog

fleathedog Well-Known Member

I'm new to property and looking for my first place, and in between looking at places I'm actually interested in buying, I stopped by an auction. I've been to auctions before, but this is the first time I actually paid attention to what was going on.

The property for sale was a 60s 3BR freestanding house on a 405sqm block about 5km out of the Brisbane CBD. The auctioneer gave his spiel and asked for bids "starting with a 5" which seemed fair enough. After a few minutes of silence one guy bid $550k. After the auctioneer tried unsuccessfully to solicit higher bids for a few minutes, he said he'd talk to the vendor. He also went over and spoke to the bidder. After some faffing about with auctioneer going the vendor and the bidder, the auctioneer announced the bidder has increased his bid, but didn't give a number. After some more faffing about, he reopened bidding at $590k, which is apparently what the original bidder had agreed to increase his offer to. And with no more bids, that's what it sold for.

As I said, this is first auction I've ever attended where I've actually paid attention to what's going on, and I'm confused. Why would the original bidder have increased his bid, if it was clear no one was interested in bidding at that price? Was it good salesmanship of the part of the auctioneer to extract a higher offer where there was no competition? Or is what the buyer did normal in this situation?

I'm curious to hear people's thoughts

2. DaveM

DaveM Well-Known Member

Reserve

Whitecat and Sackie like this.
  3. bob shovel

bob shovel Well-Known Member

They had to have an intermission to refer to the rule book to see if they were doing it right

jchan86 and DaveM like this.
  4. Sackie

Sackie Well-Known Member