What is a good yield?

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Amber83, 17th Aug, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Amber83

Amber83 Well-Known Member

Im new to all this property stuff and am trying to ascertain what is a good/acceptable rental yield on a property. Also, im expecting the IP i buy (depending on how much i pay) will be negatively geared approx $80-$100 a week. Is this a bad thing? ultimately im buying for CG, buy and hold for now, maybe do some renos at some point in the future.
    thanks for all your help!

2. Inov8ive

Inov8ive Well-Known Member

As always- it depends on your strategy. If you are buying for growth as you say, then a bit of negative gearing is ok. $100 per week would be too much for me. I noticed that you mentioned Geelong in another post, you should not have to contribute that much in Geelong if you do your homework. Its an area which is not too bad for yield. I always aim for a minimum of 5% and usually, I will add value from the onset and get closer to 6% (including cost of reno).

3. Hodor

Hodor Well-Known Member

The more cashflow the better, hence the greater the negative gearing the worse off you are. You need to be confident that the CG upside (which is speculative) outweighs your expense and meets your risk profile.

Cashflow becomes a greater concern as you grow your portfolio so best to take it into consideration ASAP

4. Propertunity

Propertunity Well-Known Member

It is a trade-off. For example you can get 6-7% yield in regional areas but low/no CG. You can get 3.5% yields for opposite ocean front that can have the highest CG. 5% is about an "average".

Of course if you are negatively geared, you are expecting that CG will outweigh your losses over time. The ATO expects this too :)

5. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member