What happens if rates keep rising?

Discussion in 'Property Market Economics' started by B-Mac, 15th May, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. B-Mac

B-Mac Well-Known Member

If rates were to continue increasing over the next 5 years to say 7.00%, what typically happens to the property market?

I haven't been investing long enough to experience this so wondering what the experts think?

Ace Ventura likes this.
  2. Zoolander

Zoolander Well-Known Member

I'm not an expert but will have a crack at this:

Investors go hunting elswhere (shares, index funds, term deposits if rates are good). Foreign investors look to US and UK if Australia is no longer a good deal.
    Over-leveraged folks default with a minute rate rise (or so the news claims), more folks default as rates climb higher. PC members with plenty of buffer pick up some new IPs for cheap.

3. JL1

JL1 Well-Known Member

depends why they rise.

if it is because inflation ramps up, then typically wage growth also increases. This means that repayments go up in $ terms, but stay roughly equal in value since wages also increase. This is a case of devaluing the currency (ie. more $ required to do the same thing across all aspects of the economy), so the $ value of houses stays the same but true value goes down.