What happened to you during the last recession?

Discussion in 'Property Market Economics' started by Ketsle, 15th Aug, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Ketsle

Ketsle Well-Known Member

As a relatively young person i've had the benefit of never experiencing a recession as an adult. So this question is for the older, sometimes wiser, members of the forum.

What happened to your house price during the previous recessions? How did the market impact you personally? What was the flow on effect in your day to day regarding your PPOR debt/position? Was it generally ok however some sacrifices had to be made? did you ahve to seriously rethink spending habits and work some financial magic to come out ok?

Curious to hear peoples personal stories rather than reading the data

charttv, sumterrence and wilso8948 like this.
  2. Peter_Tersteeg

Peter_Tersteeg Mortgage Broker Business Member

I was a student trying to self fund university in the early 90s. Casual staff levels were reduced significantly. I got by, but had to take every opportunity to work that I could. There was a lot of restructuring at all levels.

Fundamentally I guess, business slows down during a recession, fail entirely. Middle management is often the first to go, followed by those beneath them. People loose their jobs.

berten and Ketsle like this.
  3. Ketsle

Ketsle Well-Known Member

Thanks Peter. We're you still living at home? How about your parents? Did your rent reduce if not?

4. The Y-man

The Y-man Moderator Staff Member

For the context of this thread, when was the last recession?

Thanks

The Y-man

House likes this.
  5. TheSackedWiggle

TheSackedWiggle Well-Known Member

Coming into 1990 RBA cash rate was at 17.5%,
    It cut IR from 17.5% to 4.5 between 1990 and 1995
    current RBAs cash rate is at 1%, how much low can it go?
    upload_2019-8-15_13-50-33.png

Coming into 1990 household debts was much lower, what it is now?