What do you do for a job and does that relate to your interest in investing?

Discussion in 'Share Investing Strategies, Theories & Education' started by Isla_Nublar, 11th Sep, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Isla_Nublar

Isla_Nublar Well-Known Member

{Note from mods - this thread split from here: Listed Investment Companies (LICs) 2019 [LIC & LIT]}

Out of interest, what did / does everyone do for a job? We all clearly have an interest in investing, but I wonder for how many of us did that interest stem from our jobs / is related to our jobs? To start the conversation, I have 3 degrees/diploma including a general business degree and a law degree and my first exposure to investing was the ASX stock market game back in high school in 2002 or so. I remember in 2005, while studying at uni, I spent a Saturday night calculating (with paper and pen!!) how much compound interest I could earn on my savings by the time I finished my degree. Ever since, I've been frugal and always spent less than I earned, as I knew the potential for what I could achieve.

Last edited by a moderator: 12th Sep, 2019
    paulF, Morgs, Anne11 and 2 others like this.
  2. Niche

Niche Well-Known Member

I am very interested to see people's responses to this. I completed a maths degree and similarly played around with numbers to see the effects of compound interest which still blows my mind. From this I now have a job at a Financial Institution as a Data Analyst which certainly has fascinating aspects however I am considering looking for another job that is more focused in an investment based company as more interests have definitely become more investment based rather than just finances in general.

paulF likes this.
  3. dunno

dunno Well-Known Member

Academic:

Grade 10 at a low socio-economic school with woeful standards.