What are Sydneysiders now doing? (investors and home owners)

Discussion in 'Property Market Economics' started by Gousey, 7th Sep, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Gousey

Gousey Active Member

I have noticed a trend in conversations with my friends and family - some being very new investors and new homeowners (some of these having bought something within the last 3 months in Sydney).
    The conversation always steers towards whether it is now better to sell and buy something when Sydney prices have 'bottomed', or whether they should stick it out.

My wife and I have been investing for approximately 5 years, where we currently hold 4 investment properties - 3 of which are in Sydney. Sydney property details are:
    - 4/2/2 house - Seven Hills, Sydney. Land Purchased in 2013, with new house built in 2017.
    - 2/1/1 apartment - Eastlakes, Sydney. Purchased in 2014.
    - 3/1/2 house - Blacktown, Sydney. Purchased in 2016.

My stance has always been to be hold these properties and to ride the inevitable wave coming over the next few years until the next cycle begins again. I have always kept my investing simplistic and believe in a solid buy and hold strategy (although I do continue to hear that this is no longer a viable strategy).
    In my position, I don't see the benefit of selling at this stage and then buying after the correction has well and truly taken place. I see this as an opportunity to ride the harder times and hopefully be awarded when the cycle shifts and begins trending back up again.

Most of the people I speak to are asking themselves what they should do.
    The different variations I have heard to date are:
    - Should I sell my PPOR now and rent for the next few years until prices 'bottom out'? I can just buy something cheaper later and would have saved more money along the way.