Westpac discount on home loan

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by big_ben02, 3rd Jul, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. big_ben02

big_ben02 Well-Known Member

We just signed the documents for the loan on our PPOR purchase today with our Westpac business manager.

I went directly with the business banking manager as he also handles our business debt (I've been a partner in a professional services firm for 12 months so we don't have the tax return history to satisfy other banks).

When we were going through the process for the application i asked about the interest rates and he said I would receive a 0.90% discount on the SVR, but when I said I am currently receiving a 1.45% discount on my existing loans with CBA he said he would look into it and come back to me.

Now the loan documentation has been prepared and the discount has remained at 0.90% which will result in a SVR of 4.28% as of today, reducing to 4.08% after yesterdays interest rate cut.

He said that is the best rate they can do as that is the set discount for the loan size.

Given he is a business banking manager, he wouldn't be dealing with home loans all the time. What are my options. I've already asked him twice. If I wait a few months could I call their call centre and ask for a bigger discount? (I have some existing debt with CBA that will be at a lower interest rate to compare to) or will the call centre see that my loan is managed by a business banking manager and defer the question back to him (which I know I won't have any success with).

Any help appreciated. My total borrowing with Westpac will be $1m in PPOR and Investment property debt plus $740k business lending.

Ben

2. Peter_Tersteeg

Peter_Tersteeg Mortgage Broker Business Member

Westpac is regularly offering a discount of about 1.5% off the standard variable rate, as are the other major banks. In some cases I've seen significantly larger discounts.