Wall mounted desk: finished project

Discussion in 'Renovation & Home Improvement' started by dmo, 16th Feb, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. dmo

dmo Active Member

Spent a bit of time crafting the right idea for the study/spare bedroom in my PPOR and decided to go with a wall-mounted desk under the window. I'm a web designer, and there are two of us here, my parter is a teacher and she's got a ton of **** that's being brought home, so needed to give her space to work as well that wasn't the coffee table.

The width of the room is about 306cm. I was aiming to go on the slightly less expensive end of the spectrum so went for a 300cm desk top length rather than deal with templating to the nth degree to make sure it was flush with the not-so-90°-walls.

Because it was a wall-mounted desk and I'm the kind of person who leans on the desk a bit when working, I needed strong brackets that I wouldn't bang my knee on. I ended up purchasing 2 pairs (4 total) of these Heavy Duty Steel Shelf Brackets from Rockler. They are a pretty nifty product, happy with these and how easy they were to install.

Anyway, attached is a photo of the finished product. Pretty chuffed over all. Any questions let me know.

For the rest of the room, it's white trim with Taubmans Stormy Shadow. Next i'll add a sideboard, or small bookcase to the wall to the right of the picture, facing the desk. And possibly some slim/small drawers in the middle between the two work spaces.

Attached Files:

paulF, Perthguy, Lil Skater and 2 others like this.
  2. wylie

wylie Moderator Staff Member

Looks great. Nice dog too :)

dmo and Magnet like this.
  3. Propertunity

Propertunity Well-Known Member

The dog is clearly a guard dog purchased specifically for the purpose of protecting tools of trade and therefore dog food etc would likely be tax deductible* :p:p
    *seek professional advice before relying on this* o_O

EN710, dmo and Magnet like this.