VIC Villa, Townhouse or House in Melb with $650k-$700k budget?

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by tny, 17th Aug, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. tny

tny Member

Hi all,

I'm a newbie here and hoping to get some thoughts and guidance on where to buy in Melbourne with a budget of $650k-$700k. I'm trying to decide between a 2 bed villa in a innerish suburb (e.g. Preston / West Footscray / Kingsville), a 2 bed townhouse in the middle ring (e.g. Reservoir / Braybrook / Heidelberg West /Pascoe Vale) or a house in an outer suburb (e.g. Thomastown / Lalor / Mill Park / Sunshine West / Deer Park).

My situation:
    I'm looking to buy my first home in Melbourne for $650k to $700k and utilise the first home owner stamp duty concessions.

Although it'll be a home I want to look at it more as an investment. I'm single in early thirties and life can take me anywhere so it won't be a forever home. And I can always rentvest if need be after a year.

I live in the north west around Taylors Lakes, and am thinking to buy somewhere in the north or west. Leaning slightly more towards the north than west. I'm not keen to go to the outer eastern suburbs because that'll be far from everyone I know so I've ruled that out.

What do you think will be better for capital growth? A 2 bed villa? A 2 bed townhouse slightly further out? Or a house in the outer suburbs?
    Any suggestions on suburbs and dwelling type? Where to go or where to stay away from?

Thanks! Really appreciate any ideas and input.

2. Westie

Westie Well-Known Member