Vanguard wholesale fund

Discussion in 'Shares & Funds' started by FireDragon, 13th Jun, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. FireDragon

FireDragon Well-Known Member

According to Vanguard's website, the wholesale management fee is higher than the ETF version. Investment Products

I thought the wholesale fund should have a lower fee?

I would like to gradually invest some cash into Vanguard funds, but if I invest in wholesale fund, how how does it take to process the buy and sell order?

What's the disadvantage if I invest around $2M in VDHG via ETF? The only disadvantage I can see is that it may take a while to fill the order. I am relatively new to this so any comments are welcome. Thanks.

2. tedjamvor

tedjamvor Well-Known Member

Managed funds aren’t on the ASX. They’re basically unit trusts which vanguard sets the sell/buy price based on the NAV/Market price. I’m not 100% confident in that process but each to their own...

3. sfdoddsy

sfdoddsy Well-Known Member

I’ve just been in a similar situation.

The wholesale funds do have a slightly higher fee than the ETFs. But we’re talking .27% vs .29 so not a big thing.

On the other hand they don’t have brokerage fees and take BPay so if you are doing regular investments it is usually cheaper to use the wholesale fund than pay brokerage on every transaction.

There are also differences in returns. Whilst total returns end up virtually the same, for some reason that Vanguard has never been able to explain the international managed funds usually have a higher distribution than the ETFs.

In the case of VDHG, the managed fund has had a 2% higher distribution than the ETF over the past two years, and thus 2% lower capital gain.

This may have tax implications.