Managed Funds Vanguard lifestrategy growth fund

Discussion in 'Shares & Funds' started by Alina, 1st Sep, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Alina

Alina New Member

Hi guys,

I was hoping I could get some advice. I'm new to investing and I have about $20k sitting in a savings account and I'm thinking about investing this money in a managed fund. After conducting research online (googling), it appears that Vanguard LifeStrategy growth fund is not a bad option for a start.

Also, looking online, I can only see positive things about managed funds. Are there any risks prior to investing in these funds?

Cheers

2 people like this.
  2. twisted strategies

twisted strategies Well-Known Member

welcome to InvestChat ,

Vanguard LifeStrategy Funds | Vanguard

first i might be wrong but the offerings i have found so far seem to be US domiciled , meaning extra possible tax implications for you .

next you would have to check how easy it is to exit should the fund do less than expected or you suddenly need the cash .

they ALWAYS look good ( that how the PR people dress it up ) it is your responsibly to dig deep for ugly bits and potential traps

Vanguard LifeStrategy Moderate Growth Fund (VSMGX)

Holdings

Underlying funds as of 07/31/2018

Rank Fund name Percentage
    1 Vanguard Total Stock Market Index Fund Investor Shares 36.1%
    2 Vanguard Total Bond Market II Index Fund Investor Shares** 27.9%
    3 Vanguard Total International Stock Index Fund Investor Shares 24.1%
    4 Vanguard Total International Bond Index Fund Investor Shares 11.9%
    Total 100.0%
    **Information on this fund can be found on Vanguard's Institutional Investors site.

2 people like this.
  3. Hodor

Hodor Well-Known Member

Equivalent Australian Vanguard funds are here;

Investment Products

Wholesale here (stated $500k requirement, call them up and should let you start with over $100k);

Investment Products