Valuation dispute on duplex construction loan

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by BenWB, 23rd Mar, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. BenWB

BenWB Member

Hi all

I’m Brand new to PC.

We have approvals in place for the construction of two townhouses in inner Melb. We have just received the lenders independent valuations which are significantly below anticipated.

As is typical, lenders have advised the max security is 80% of the existing ‘as-is’ property value plus the fixed price building contract.

We anticipated the valuation of the existing property to be below ‘market’, but the valuer has stated the construction contract is inflated, and subsequently ‘valued’ the construction contract based security component at 85% of the builders tender. On this basis we haven’t signed the contract with the builder as of yet.

We have had four independent quotes for our scope, of which our preferred builder was the second lowest. This suggests to me that the quotes are a reasonable indication of current commercial rates.

How and why could the valuer question this element and justify such a reduction in construction cost ‘value’? Wouldn’t market rates dictate this? The valuer has not visited the site, nor would I presume they are a builder or undertaken a full take off of the drawings via a quantity surveyor.

We have asked for a review, but I would be interested to hear if any members have encountered this scenario, and what advice they may have in overcoming this hurdle?

Alternatively, does anyone have a spare $200k?

Look forward to your replies.

Thanks in advance

Ben

2. Jamie Moore

Jamie Moore MORTGAGE BROKER - AUSTRALIA WIDE Business Member

Hi Ben

You’ve got a couple of options.

Try to contest it - but you’ll need comparable sales which might be hard to find. I don’t think you’ll have much luck going down this path.