Using IO loans to create Cash Flow ?

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Curious Johnny, 19th Sep, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Curious Johnny

Curious Johnny Member

This is my first post, been reading for a while and thought I would jump in with a post, hi :)

I am new to the Australian property market, New South Wales is where I am located, and was wondering if it's considered a feasible plan to invest in the property market using Interest Only loans to create more cash flow in the short term (5 years) ?

My investment experience is in the US, the mid-west in particular, and a lot of the criteria used to locate quality investments just cannot be applied to the New South Wales property market. What general sort of rules, guidelines, etc. are you using to locate a property to evaluate and analyse if it is even worth going further with to inspect, arrange to meet, and potentially purchase ?

Thank you, any responses would be appreciated.

2. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

That was generally the recommended approach until a few years ago. Things have changed slightly because
    a) IO hurts loan serviceability, and
    b) IO loans generally have a higher interest rate.

Redwing, Dan Wood and Curious Johnny like this.
  3. Curious Johnny

Curious Johnny Member

Thank you for your reply. Is it a strategy that you still see people using in spite of this ? Or is it just dead as a strategy now ? For example, I have always looked for cash flow as a priority in my portfolio, but looking at the numbers with a typical investment P&I loan product here I am not finding any deals to sink my teeth into, maybe I am just looking in the wrong places, I don't know. The only way I can see positively cash flowing on listed properties for sale is with an IO loan with rates on the upper end of 3%.

4. Terry_w