Using Equity & loan structure

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by fufu, 1st Jun, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. fufu

fufu New Member

Hi first time posting,

So we are a couple with 1 child, and currently have 3 properties all have mortgages ( one is our residence), wanting to get started with a 3rd IP.

We’ve never used equity before and want to use it wisely, Bank has told us we have enough equity across all properties..mostly in our primary residence. Is it best to use primary residence or other IP?
    Can I have some suggestions from experienced investors on how to set up the accounts and make sure the bank doesn’t cross collateralise everything?
    Also do I need to find a house first or they can approve it and then I go find the house?(CBA)
    I’m supposing the IP has to be in my name for tax? - wife not currently working..
    Only our primary residence is under both our names so not sure if we can use that equity from it in this case.
    - I want to use equity as deposit on IP as we have no savings right now, hopefully it can be done.

Thanks

fritzsticker likes this.
  2. Peter_Tersteeg

Peter_Tersteeg Mortgage Broker Business Member

Avoiding cross collateralisation is fairly simple. You take an equity loan against one property, turning your equity into cash. You then use that cash to fund the deposit & costs on the next purchase. You get a loan for the remaining amount needed for the new purchase, solely against that property.

If there's not enough equity in a single property, you can get several smaller equity loans, one against each property. This starts to get a bit messy and this is often where lenders will simply default to the idea that cross collateralisation is easier. Granted, it might be easier, but it will probably hurt you more in the long run.