US USA Property Investing

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Scott O'Neill, 10th May, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Scott O'Neill

Scott O'Neill Active Member

Hi Guys,

I'm tossing up the idea of purchasing a property in the US. I currently own 28 properties in Australia and as a result, I think it's time to diversify. Shares still rub me up the wrong way, so I'll be sticking to to good old bricks and mortar once again.

In summary, I have no real knowledge of the US market and would like to know if there is anyone in this forum that has a good working understanding of the markets there? Do you recommend buying one blue chip property or a few cheaper ones? Initially I was thinking of buying a 2 bedroom in NYC, but the market is going backwards we speak. Maybe I should try the West coast or forget the US completely for now?

Anyways, you can see I'm only just starting to look into this but I would value any informed opinions out there on the USA. I'm excited to learn more about these foreign markets!

Scott O'Neill

Taku Ekanayake and Perthguy like this.
  2. MTR

MTR Well-Known Member

Bostoncommercial.jpg

We just purchased this in Boston, commercial building which is currently with architect looking at converting into condos, and retail on ground floor.

a photo of the grand lady above, there are actually two buildings, 35,000 sq ft, which does not include basement, that was a nice surprise, also 15 car bays
    We also have ocean views from the upper floors.

I have a portfolio of properties/cash cows in Atlanta, GA. Do a search of my posts and media includes photos of Boston and Atlanta properties.

Practically all markets started booming in 2011 and are now back to prices of 2007 when the market crashed. States like Atlanta dropped 70%

Even Detroit is now booming, not for me, but I know someone who owns 25 properties and more than doubled his money and has income.