Unit vs House PPOR for a builder?

Discussion in 'What to buy' started by Maximus, 4th Aug, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Maximus

Maximus Well-Known Member

Hello everyone,

Facts:
    1. $130k deposit (potential for $150-160k by end of year)
    2. $45k yearly wage approx. (currently seeking other employment to improve borrowing capacity)
    3. I am a licensed builder (2 years tafe, 4 years university studying Construction project management)
    4. Budget 650k (no pre-approval as yet)
    5. First home buyer

Situation:
    At 29 years old living with certain family members has become untenable, i have been saving for years as i knew i would have to leave ASAP.

I am currently looking for my first property as a PPOR and am in the dilemma of do i want a unit in a better area where i would enjoy living or purchase a house in western Sydney which i could develop in the future.

I am looking at units in older small blocks 6-12 units around the Rockdale,Kograh area 500-550k range.
    In terms of western Sydney i am looking just south of Liverpool in Casula ( i have worked in the area and its quite nice but far from where i want to be) with houses coming up around the 650k range with blocks around 600sqm, large frontage for future development.
    I am open to other areas but a train line in close proximity is non-negotiable (2-3km max distance)

Other people on this forum have stated that since it will be your PPOR you should select somewhere you want to live.

Im pretty sure i already know the answer but which is a better option?
    Keeping in mind i could easily/cheaply add a second dwelling to the land (for myself) and rent out the main residence for cash flow.
    So my options are a 2-3 Bedroom unit in an area within 5km of the beach or a brick house out west with development and cash flow potential.

Thanks all for your input

2. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member